FACULTY SPOTLIGHT: Dr. Michael Clement

NAME:

Dr. Michael Clement

POSITION/TITLE:

Associate Professor of Accounting

HOMETOWN:

Washington, DC

DEGREE (S) AND SCHOOL(S) ATTENDED:

BBA, Baruch College

MBA, University of Chicago

PhD, Stanford University

WHAT IS YOUR AREA OF EXPERTISE:

Accounting and Finance

TIME AT UT:

Here since 1997

WHAT ATTRACTED YOU TO THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT AUSTIN:

A strong accounting department (we are ranked #1), good colleagues, and Austin is a nice place to live.

WHAT IS ONE THING YOU ARE LOOKING FORWARD TO THE MOST THIS SEMESTER/YEAR:

Spending time with my family.  My oldest son will be a freshman in college next year and I am looking forward to spending time with my wife and two sons.

WHO IS YOUR BIGGEST INSPIRATION:

My dad.  He was a professor at a small college in Bedford Stuyvesant in Brooklyn, NY.  He was a real champion for diversity.

WHAT PROFESSION, OTHER THAN YOUR OWN, WOULD YOU LIKE TO ATTEMPT:

A filmmaker.  I would like to make powerful films that touch people.

A LOCAL GEM THAT BFSA MEMBERS SHOULD NOT BE WITHOUT:

For me it is the Texas Relays and the activities surrounding that event.  It is my favorite time of year.

CAN YOU TELL US ABOUT A MEMORABLE CONVERSATION:

It was a conversation with Tyrone Willingham, who at the time was Notre Dame’s head football coach.  I asked him how I should choose from among multiple job offers that I was considering.  Without hesitating he said I should go where I could create the greatest opportunities for others.

Leave a Reply

